MarathonJake Defined

Since graduating in 2006 from the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire and leaving my past behind me to start a new beginning, I found myself in need of an outlet to dedicate myself to. I had always had a passion for fitness and health. Quickly I became involved in several activities including weight lifting, mountain biking, playing in a flag football league, and eventually found my way into different kinds of races.

Nellie coming out to show her support for me at the Twin Cities 10Miler!

Nellie coming out to show her support for me at the Twin Cities 10Miler!

In 2007, I had decided to run the Twin Cities Marathon, I trained for six months prior to the race and eventually the day came and I completed it. I felt an incredible sense of accomplishment, and from that day forward I was hooked. I had found my feet! Over the next several years I competed and excelled at various types of races.

A few of the races I have done include:

Warrior Dash (5K – Obstacle Course)
Rugged Maniac (5K – Obstacle Course)
Get In Gear (10K Race)
Trinona (Triathlon – Olympic Distance)
CampTITAN (5K – Obstacle Course)
Men’s Health Urbanathlon (10M – Obstacle Race)
TC 10 Miler (10M Race)
TC Medtronic Marathon (26.2M Race)
Lifetime Fitness Triathlon (Triathlon – Olympic Distance)
Torchlight (5K Race)
MS Mudrun (10K Mud Race)
Gran Fondo (50K Bike Race)

My tastes have changed several times in the last 5-6 years when it comes to races. I started with simple run races, then transitioned to triathlons and now I have gotten into obstacle course races. I think that as I mastered each style of races I began to get bored and so I keep evolving. Who know what’s next to come but I am always hungry for adventure! Please follow along as I post more specifics of my race experiences!

Leave a Reply

