DiFfErEnT DiSh – Borough

As you can recall, Nellie set the bar pretty high in our debut edition of DiFfErEnT DiSh – MARIN! So the pressure was on for me to find some really good dining options to rival our amazing start. I dug deep, and I mean deep, and I found my inner foodie-self and came up with a fantastic short list of fine dining options!

Conveniently on the way home, I stopped and picked up a bottle of wine and was able to unwind before our evening was to commence. So I sipped some sweet white wine and listened to country music while I ironed out my attire for the evening.  Nell had not yet arrived home yet, which was fine by me, I was finally able to take a moment for myself. My weeks have recently been held hostage by a very demanding grad school course load; so this was really nice.

Soon my Mrs. arrived and we were able to finish getting ready together. We snapped a few selfies and were quickly out the door. She definitely knows how to get glamorous and tonight was not an exception, she was spot on.  After her asking a few times where we dining, I finally caved and told her.  We would be trying one of the Twin Cities new hot spots, The Borough!

Checking out the Borough on this episode of DiFfErEnT DiSh! It's a new and trending restaurant which provides great atmosphere and excellent service!

Checking out the Borough on this episode of DiFfErEnT DiSh! It’s a new and trending restaurant which provides great atmosphere and excellent service!

I felt that this place had a cool rustic feel mixed with a few tasteful accents that would deliver the upscale dining atmosphere. It definitely delivered. When we arrived the hostess politely greeted us and we quickly took us to a quiet table by the windows. I felt a few complements being sent our way from the glances we received from those casually dining and chit chatting. We started catching up with normal work and school conversation, it seems like we get little time together these days because we are both very busy.  I am proud of her though, she has really taken her career to new levels lately, and she knows it! The conversation kept coming and we let it flow, the bottle of wine that we shared only helped to grease the wheels of more gossip.

We had a great server, he was rather animated and made us feel excited about the items on the menu.  Our hunger had grown and we were eager to try new dishes.  The Borough has more of an american style cuisine but offers some unique flavors, so we didn’t hold back.  For our 1st and 2nd courses we decided to split the plates and order our own main entries and share. The *Hamachi was absolutely delightful and the Octopus was very very excellent.  They were recommended on several reviews that I read and now I know that they weren’t lying, absolutely delicious. We continued sipping on some wine as we ate some bread as our main course was prepared. I went with the Short Rib and Nell went with the Chicken entrée, both were very well prepared but were again smaller portions.

A picture collage of our evening, cause nothing spells out a good evening with your wife than a bunch of selfies! We had a really fun time tasting some new dishes!

A picture collage of our evening, cause nothing spells out a good evening with your wife better than a bunch of selfies! We had a really fun time tasting some new dishes at this classy upscale restaurant!

Overall this place has great service and a nice staff to ensure that your having a quality experience, but this does come with a price tag.  Another wards, if you don’t plan on spending a lot, then you might have to borrow money just to pay your Borough tab; I know bad pun, lol. We didn’t sweat it, with a quick swipe we settled up and started the car from across the street. We said our goodbyes and like a gentleman, I retrieved the car and picked up my queen.  This was another fun dining experience and the night was well spent in the best company!

Borough Recap:

  • Food – 4/5 stars
  • Decor – 3.5/5 stars
  • Music – 3/5 stars
  • Service – 5/5 stars
  • Price – $$$

Stick with us as we see what Nellie surprises me with next month, stay tuned for our next DiFfErEnT DiSh!

Leave a Reply

